Vegans and vegetarians have different beliefs on animals related to the non-veg community.
Vegans and vegetarians depend more on plants than on animals. Both vegetarians and vegans prefer not to eat meat and fish. However, vegans are a more stringent form of vegetarianism that prohibits meat, fish, and all the by-products that derive from animals. Hence, we will present some interesting facts, differences, and important information to clear your doubts on vegan vs. vegetarianism from this post.
The Core Difference of Vegan Vs. Vegetarianism
Vegetarians do not have meat, fish, and poultry. Vegans are vegetarians who refrain from consuming or using all animal products, including:
- Other dairy products
However, some people may find the contrasts between these two diets a bit complicated, especially as there are multiple variations of vegetarianism.
Types of Vegetarianism
There are particular degrees of vegetarianism or varieties of a vegetarian diet. They are particularly built upon which foods you prefer not to eat. Beginning from the most confining and going our way down, the types of vegetarian diets are as follows:
As mentioned on top, vegans do not eat or use any animal products or by-products. Accordingly, vegans, of course, do not eat red or white meat, fish, or fowl. And, they also do not eat eggs and dairy. Moreover, vegans do not utilize honey or beeswax, gelatin, and any other animal by-product constituents or products. They generally abstain from using animal products such as leather, wool, and silk as well.
#02. Lacto Vegetarian
Lacto-vegetarians do not consume white or red meat, fowl, fish, or eggs. However, Lacto-vegetarians do use dairy products such as milk, cheese, and yogurt.
#03. Ovo Vegetarian
Ovo-vegetarians do not consume fish, red or white meat, fowl, or dairy products. But, ovo-vegetarians do use egg products.
#04. Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian
Lacto-Ovo vegetarians do not use red meat, white meat, fish, or fowl. Still, Lacto-Ovo vegetarians do use dairy products and egg products. However, this is meant to be the most common variety of vegetarian.
The following three variations of vegetarianism mentioned below are a bit more complex than what we discussed on top.
#01. Pescatarian (Pescetarian)
Although this is technically not a type of vegetarian, these people do limit their meat intake to fish and seafood only. Pescatarians do not eat red meat, white meat, or fowl. In fact, this type is recognized as a “semi-vegetarian” or “flexitarian” diet.
More like the pescatarian, this semi-vegetarian diet limits meat intake to poultry and fowl only. And, it is not officially regarded as a vegetarian. Pollotarians do not eat fish or red meat, and seafood.
Flexitarians follow a plant-based diet with the infrequent meat item on the menu. These people try their best to restrict meat consumption as much as possible. And they have an almost completely plant-based diet. Like the previous two diets mentioned on top, this is not technically regarded as a “vegetarian” diet. Still, we thought of including them here as they come closer to a vegetarian diet.
Veganism is a belief and style of living. And, different people have chosen to embrace vegan existence in various measures. In realistic terms, other than the things we discussed before, being vegan means withdrawing the following too:
- Clothing or goods manufactured from animal skins, such as suede, leather, wool, and fur.
- Circuses, aquariums, zoos, and other applications of animals for pleasure.
- Clothing or goods made by utilizing animals, such as silk.
- Goods or ingredients that manufacturers have experimented on animals.
- Clothing or goods made from feathers, such as down.
- Some vegans also prefer to avoid palm oil, as they argue that producers destroy habitats to obtain it, which creates suffering in animals.
However, although vegans have a noble attitude in general, their real diets may change. For instance, some vegans prefer to eat whole foods and bypass processed foods. Others wish to incorporate vegan junk foods. They could be sausages, meatballs, or burgers made from plant-based ingredients on the menu.
Still, others have a more stable way, including infrequent processed foods but mainly consuming whole foods.
Foods to Eat on a Vegetarian Diet
A vegetarian diet should incorporate a different combination of vegetables, fruits, grains, good fats, and proteins. To substitute the protein contributed by meat in your diet, a vegetarian could include a mixture of protein-abundant plant foods like seeds, nuts, legumes, etc.
And, if you follow a lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet, eggs and dairy can also promote your protein consumption. However, eating nutrient-dense whole foods like whole grains, vegetables, and fruits will provide a spectrum of essential vitamins and minerals to fulfill any nutritional recesses in your diet.
A few whole foods to have on a vegetarian diet are:
|Vegetables||Leafy greens, asparagus, broccoli, tomatoes, carrots, green beans, mushrooms.|
|Fruits||Apples, peaches, bananas, berries, melons, oranges, pears, kiwi.|
|Legumes||Lentils, black beans, peas, chickpeas.|
|Grains||Quinoa, barley, buckwheat, rice, oats, finger millet|
|Healthy fats||Olive oil, Coconut oil, avocados|
|Proteins||Tempeh, natto, tofu, seitan, nutritional yeast, spirulina, eggs, dairy products|
|Nuts||Almonds, walnuts, cashews, chestnuts, hazelnuts|
|Seeds||Flaxseeds, chia, and hemp seeds|
However, eggs and dairy products are restricted for vegans.
Foods to Avoid on a Vegetarian and a Vegan Diet
There are many differences in vegetarianism, each with distinct limitations. Accordingly, Lacto-Ovo vegetarianism, the most typical kind of vegetarian diet, includes excluding all meat, poultry, fish, and seafood. And, other varieties of vegetarians may also avoid foods like dairy and eggs.
However, as said above, a vegan diet is the most confining form of vegetarianism because it excludes fish, eggs, poultry, meat, dairy, and any other animal products.
Depending on your requirements and choices, you may have to dodge the following foods on a vegetarian diet:
|Poultry||Chicken and turkey|
|Meat||Pork, beef, and lamb|
|Meat-based ingredients||Carmine, Gelatin, lard, isinglass, oleic acid, and suet|
|Fish and shellfish||This constraint is not applicable to pescetarians.|
|Dairy products||This limitation on milk, yogurt, and cheese is applicable to vegans and ovo-vegetarians.|
|Eggs||This restriction applies to vegans and lacto-vegetarians.|
|Other animal products||Vegans may prefer to avoid beeswax, honey, and pollen.|
Do Vegans Eat Fish?
A vegan diet requires refraining from eating any meat or animal products. And, they avoid consuming meat and poultry, as well as fish and shellfish.
Do Vegans Eat Cheese?
The process of cheese making does not undergo the means of slaughtering animals. Therefore, Lacto, lacto-ovo-vegetarians, and some pescatarians include cheese in their diets. But, on the contrary, as vegans abstain from all animal and animal by-products, they do not include cheese in their diet. Since most cheese is made from cow’s or goat’s milk, most kinds are not vegan-friendly.
But vegans can go for cheese alternatives, and you can learn more about them from a section down below.
Are Pasta and Spaghetti Vegan?
Let us clear your confusion. Most packed pasta, including rotini, spaghetti, and any other variety, is completely vegan. If you want to make sure, you could simply examine the ingredients on their packages.
And sometimes, you might notice “egg” noted as an ingredient in fresh kinds of pasta. Thus, avoid those. But, usually, pasta includes no animal-derived ingredients. Most boxed pasta comprises just one or two plant-based ingredients such as fortified wheat flour and semolina.
However, companies have grown more inventive in the recent past. They tend to make pasta from foods such as rice, legumes, beans, yams, sea kelp, and sweet potatoes, amongst others. In fact, many are gluten-free and supplemented with vitamins, minerals, and protein.
Loved-by-many Nutella- Vegan or Not?
Nutella is a chocolate-hazelnut spread relished all over the world. It’s generally used on toast, pancakes, and other breakfast treats.
And, therefore, you may question whether Nutella is vegan-friendly, intending free of animal-derived constituents, such as eggs, dairy, or honey. And, manufactured without animal torture or exploitation. Basically, there are eight ingredients in Nutella. They are: sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, skim milk powder, cocoa, lecithin, and vanillin (a synthetic vanilla essence).
Lecithin is an emulsifier that’s combined to mix the other ingredients, supporting a smooth texture. It’s normally egg- or soy-based. However, in Nutella, it’s produced from soybeans, creating this ingredient vegan.
Nevertheless, Nutella includes skim milk powder. It is cow’s milk that undergoes a swift warming and drying process to eliminate liquids and produce a powder.
Therefore, this ingredient makes Nutella non-vegan.
Nutrition of Vegans and Vegetarians
A meatless diet can be healthy. Research explains vegetarian and vegan diets tend to be moderate in saturated fat and cholesterol. In addition, they also tend to carry huge amounts of vitamins, minerals, fiber, and healthy plant compounds. Moreover, both diets comprise a high quantity of nutrient-dense foods. These may incorporate vegetables, fruits, whole grains, seeds, nuts, and soy products.
On the other hand, inadequately prepared vegetarian and vegan diets could end in low consumptions of some nutrients. Therefore, vegetarians, particularly vegans, want to make sure that they are getting sufficient vitamin B12, calcium, iron, and zinc.
A study has shown that there is a risk of vitamin B12 insufficiencies in vegetarians and vegans. Generally, Vitamin B12 is discovered naturally only in animal products. In fact, a shortage of vitamin B12 can lead to anemia and blindness. Moreover, it can also induce muscle weakness, tingling, and numbness. To neutralize the heightened risk, vegans should incorporate B12 supplements or enriched cereals and veggie burgers. And, vitamin B12 has been discovered in differing amounts in mushrooms, especially in the outer peel.
Vegans and ovo-vegetarians who consume eggs but not dairy need to find foods that can fulfill their nutritional needs. They can go ahead and try dark green vegetables, edamame, tofu, soy nuts, butternut squash, and calcium-fortified non-dairy beverages. Or else supplements that counterbalance the lacking calcium from their diets. In fact, absorbable calcium is crucial to shield against osteoporosis or thinning bones.
Both vegetarians and vegans should give proper attention to nutrition approaches meant to enhance the absorption of nutrients from plant foods. And, it may also be essential to have fortified foods and supplements, particularly for nutrients such as iron, calcium, omega-3, and vitamins D and B12.
Moreover, vegetarians and vegans should strictly consider scrutinizing their regular nutrient intake. In addition, having their blood nutrient levels measured and using supplements accordingly is very important.
Alternative Food for Vegans and Vegetarians
If you step out to the market, you’ll be able to find a variety of vegan and vegetarian alternatives. In fact, a majority of well-known supermarkets now offer an ample range of plant-based burgers, sausages, and other meat and dairy substitutes. Commonly, they are based on legumes, vegetables, cereals, and other ingredients.
Here are some, among the many, protein, meat, and dairy substitutes for vegans and vegetarians:
- Jackfruit- replacement for pork, tuna, or chicken
- Aquafaba- used as a replacement for egg white
- Seitan- meat replacement
- Non-dairy milk- oat, hazelnut, cashew, almond, soy, hemp
- Vegan cheeses
- Plant-based yogurts and creams- coconut cream, dairy-free yogurts
- Vegan mock meat
- Tofu and Tempeh
- Dairy-free spreads and fat
- Chia seeds
- Flax seeds
- Black beans
- Agave Nectar
- Maple Syrup
- Coconut Nectar
- Dark-green leafy vegetables
Plant-based Vs. Vegetarian
A plant-based diet is a form of eating that concentrates on fruits and vegetables, whole grains, legumes (beans, peas, and lentils), nuts, and seeds. That is, generally, foods that originate from plants. And, it is NOT a vegetarian diet that excludes meat, but it de-strengthens meat and its contribution to our meals.
Plant-based Vs. Vegan
A plant-based diet mainly consists of plants. Most people use the phrase to indicate a 100 percent plant diet, but some incorporate modest amounts of animal products. On the contrary, a vegan diet completely eliminates all animal products and by-products.
Check this table out for a clearer idea.
|Meat and poultry||Maybe||No|
|Eggs and Dairy products||Maybe||No|
(Refined sweeteners, bleached flour, white rice)
(whole grain flours, bread, pasta)
|Fruits & Vegetables||Yes||Yes|
Who Is a Raw Vegan?
A person who consumes a raw vegan diet eats plant foods uncooked or only cooked to low temperatures.
This method eliminates usual carbohydrate sources such as potatoes, rice, and bread. However, some people who follow a raw food diet utilize a dehydrator to produce bread from sprouted grains. Moreover, they may also incorporate sprouted grains, seeds, and beans as roots of protein and carbohydrates.
In addition, some research data shows that plant-based diets are anti-inflammatory, are advantageous for gut health, and can lower the risk of some chronic conditions.
Vegan Vs. Vegetarianism- Which Is Healthier?
Both vegetarian and vegan diets can be regarded as appropriate for all stages of life, as long as the diet is prepared well. This has been proved from research data and numerous scientific reviews.
And, the studies further show that inadequate consumption of nutrients such as omega-3 fatty acids, calcium, and vitamins D and B12 can badly affect many aspects of health. In fact, those deficiencies could cause various physical and mental issues.
Both vegetarians and vegans may have more moderate consumption of these nutrients. However, studies explain that vegetarians tend to consume a bit more calcium and vitamin B12 than vegans.
Furthermore, several studies directly correlating vegetarian to vegan diets state that vegans may have a slightly lower risk of acquiring type 2 diabetes, heart disease, and different types of cancer than vegetarians.
In addition, vegans tend to possess a lower body mass index than vegetarians and appear to increase less weight as they grow older.
In a nutshell, both types of diet can be deemed safe for all stages of life, but vegan diets may even give supplementary health benefits.
Vegetarians and vegans may refrain from consuming animal products for comparative purposes. But they follow these diets in different measures. And, different types of vegetarians exist, and vegans are at the most stringent point of the vegetarian community.
However, both vegetarians and vegans need to plan their diets thoroughly in order to circumvent health issues over the long term. Thus, we hope you got a more transparent idea of what vegan vs. vegetarianism is, and we think we supplied answers that many of you had regarding this particular subject. Thank you for reading, and looking forward to meeting you with the following article soon!